Conor Hanick performs works by Kati Agócs, Robert Beaser, Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade, Balázs Futó, Jocelyn Morlock, and Nicholas Namoradze, as part of Agócs’s A Stone’s Throw series with Metropolis Ensemble

Friday, March 29, 2019
1 Rivington Street / 2nd Floor (Buzzer #1) / New York, NY
6:30pm (doors) / 7:00pm (event)
Tickets: $15 general / $10 students / free for members

Kati Agócs’s A Stone’s Throw series with Metropolis Ensemble with the spotlight on pianist Conor Hanick performing musical paraphrases. Agócs’s new work for solo piano, a paraphrase of her own setting of a poem by Hungarian poet Szilárd Borbély from The Debrecen Passion, will have its New York premiere. This piece was commissioned by the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra as a competition piece for the Iowa Piano Competition. A selection of solo piano Etudes by Nicolas Namoradze; Antithesis by fellow Hungarian Balázs Futó; aphoristic dialogues with the Paganini Caprices by Robert Beaser and Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade; and the U.S. premiere of Petrichor, a violin-piano duet based on J.S. Bach by Canadian Jocelyn Morlock, create a colloquy with Agócs’s Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano, itself a dialogue with Bach’s ground bass forms.

Balázs Futó: Antithesis for clarinet and piano (U.S. Premiere)
Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade: Devil’s Minion for solo violin
Robert Beaser: Pag-Rag for solo piano
Nicholas Namoradze: Piano Etudes (selection) for solo piano
Kati Agócs: Debrecen Paraphrase (NY Premiere) for solo piano
Jocelyn Morlock: Petrichor for violin and piano (NY Premiere)
Kati Agócs: Trio for Violin, Cello, and Piano