The Roots’ and then you shoot your cousin

2014 / FEATURING metropolis ensemble

And Then You Shoot Your Cousin is the eleventh studio album by American hip hop band The Roots. The album is conceptual, but unlike Undun, the album features several characters in this story, not just one, in a satirical look at violence in hip hop and American society overall.


Richard Nichols, executive producer
Producers: Anthony Woods SJ, Tarik "Black Thought" Trotter, Damion Ward, DD Jackson, Dice Raw, Hecky Krasnow, Mary Lou Williams, Mike Jerz, Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson, Ray Angry, Rev Run, Trapzillas & The Wurxs
Andrew Cyr, conductor
DD Jackson, strings arranger
Dave Kutch, mastering engineer
Jason Goldstein, mixing engineer
Featured Artists: Dice Raw, Greg Porn, Mercedes Martinez, Michel Chion, Modesty Lycan, Nina Simone, Patty Crash, Raheem DeVaughn


Mark Kelley, bass
Alice Yoo, cello
Dane Johansen, cello
Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson, drums
Kirk "Captain Kirk" Douglas, guitar
James Poyser, keyboards
Kamal Gray, keyboards
Frank "Knuckles" Walker, percussion
Damon Bryson, sousaphone
Metropolis Ensemble, strings
Danny Kim, viola
Jack Stulz, viola
Violin: Emily Smith, Henry Wang, Sean Lee, Siwoo Kim
Howard Roberts Choral Group, vocals
Andrew Cyr, Conductor