January 12, 2016 / 7:30pm
Le Poisson Rouge / 158 Bleecker Street NYC

Bach Unwound

Metropolis Ensemble's latest Resident Artist Series project with cellist Ashley Bathgate and Sleeping Giant

Emily Wells, performer
Kristin Lee, violin / concertmaster
Siwoo Kim, violin
Caitlin Mary Lynch,
Madeline Fayette,
Kris Saebo,
Ryan Francis,

About the Concert

Join cellist Ashley Bathgate in collaboration with the Brooklyn-based composer collective Sleeping Giant (Timo Andres, Chris Cerrone, Jacob Cooper, Ted Hearne, Robert Honstein, and Andrew Norman) as she premieres an entirely new series of reflections inspired by the Unaccompanied Cello Suites of J.S. Bach.

Bach Unwound will incorporate extended performance techniques, live electronics, and external media resulting in a radical deconstruction and re-imagination of the original music. Collectively forming a single, concert-length work, this multi-composer collaboration will juxtapose contemporary and historical practice to create a new recital experience.

The Resident Artist Series offers a platform for Metropolis Ensemble performing artists and composers to initiate and realize commissioning projects and produce concerts events, giving our core roster members unique opportunities collaborate with those who inspire them.

Bach Unwound