September 27, 2016 / 8pm
Angel Orensanz Foundation / 172 Norfolk Street NYC

Celebrate: Metropolis Ensemble Turns Ten

Celebrate a decade of innovation in music with a roving party

Paula Matthusen, Composer
Ricardo Romaneiro, Composer
Emily Wells, Singer-Songwriter
Du Yun, Composer
Matthew Evan Taylor, Composer / Saxophone
Andrew Cyr, Conductor

On the Program

Select and new works by many of Metropolis Ensemble's collaborators past and present, including World Premiere works composed for the occasion by Ryan Francis, Paula Matthusen, Ricardo Romaneiro, Matthew Evan Taylor, and more. With special performances by: Timo Andres, piano, Kristen Lee, violin/concertmaster, Jakub Ciupinski, theremins, Conor Hanick, piano, Ashley Bathgate, cello, Ian Rosenbaum, percussion, Brad Balliett, bassoon, Sean Lee, violin, Emily Wells, singer-songwriter, Matthew Evan Taylor, saxophone, and DD Jackson, pianist/improvisor/composer, and more.

About the Concert

Grammy-nominated Metropolis Ensemble celebrates a decade of innovation in music with a roving party inspired by John Cage’s “Musicircus.” You have shared ten years of belief, participation, passion, and generosity in making Metropolis what it is today so we wish to give back with an unforgettable birthday celebration gathering of all our Metropolis family, friends, and artists — and announce a bold new vision for the future of our entire community!

Under the artistic direction of conductor Andrew Cyr, in collaboration with composers Paula Matthusen and Ricardo Romaneiro, Celebrate — Metropolis Turns Ten, will be a multi-sensorial experience of cascading musical performances, sound installations, and spontaneous group performances. Drawing inspiration from Cage's, "Everything at once and all together", revelers will be immersed in innovative lighting design, projection mapping, and performance art. Wine will flow, sponsored by the award-winning Miro Cellars. Finally, an after-party will feature a set by multi-faceted singer-songwriter and Metropolis collaborator, Emily Wells. Celebrate with Metropolis September 27! 

Production Team

Leo Leite, Sound Engineer
John Houle, Lighting Design
Christian Hannon, Visuals


Kati Agócs, Andy Akiho, Timo Andres, Brad Balliett, Christopher Cerrone, Jakub Ciupinski, Anna Clyne, Elliot Cole, David Bruce, John Cage, Molly Joyce, Ray Lustig, Paula Matthusen, Andrew Norman, Niccolo Paganini, Ricardo Romaneiro, Frederic Rzewski, Caroline Shaw, Matthew Evan Taylor, DD Jackson, Ryan Francis, Vivian Fung, and Du Yun


Timo Andres, Piano
Brad Balliett, Bassoon
Ashley Bathgate, Cello
Andrea Casarrubios, Cello
Vasko Dukovski, Clarinet
Emi Ferguson, Flute
Francisco Fullana, Violin
Jonathan Greenberg, Bass Trombone
Ariadne Greif, Soprano
Conor Hanick, Violin
Bert Hill, French Horn
D.D. Jackson, Piano
Ashley Jackson, Harp
Jacqui Kerrod, Harp
Siwoo Kim, Violin
Karen Kim, Violin
Ayane Kozasa, Viola
Kristin Lee, Violin
Sean Lee, Violin
Caitlin Mary Lynch, Viola
Britton Matthew, Percussion
Brian Olsen, Trumpet
Rachel Lee Priday, Violin
Ian Rosenbaum, Percussion
Leia Slosberg, Flute
Emily Smith, Violin
Sean Statser, Percussion
Terry Sweeney, Percussion
Matthew Evan Taylor, Saxophones
Caleb van der Swaagh, Cello
Henry Wang, Violin
Laura Weiner, French Horn
Emily Wells, Singer-Songwriter

Metropolis Archives: Metropolis 10th Anniversary Celebration