Mivos Quartet performs works by Kati Agócs, Edmund Finnis, Matthew Schultheis, and Lázsló Sándor, as part of Agócs’s A Stone’s Throw series with Metropolis Ensemble

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
1 Rivington Street / 2nd Floor (Buzzer #1) / New York, NY
6:30pm (doors) / 7:00pm (event)
Tickets: $15 general / $10 students / free for members

Kati Agócs’s A Stone’s Throw series with Metropolis Ensemble begins with the Mivos Quartet giving the New York premiere of her first String Quartet Tantric Variations alongside a quartet by emerging American Matthew Schultheis. String solo and duet works by young Hungarian Lázsló Sándor and UK composer Edmund Finnis complement selections from László Vidovsky’s iconic Duos for Violin and Viola, a work by a revered living Hungarian who has influenced her string writing. This concert’s theme is fluidity, continuity, and the weaving together of disparate strands to make a unified whole.

Edmund Finnis: Brother (NY Premiere)
Lázsló Sándor– Ha folyóvíz (U.S. Premiere)
László Vidovsky: Twelve Duos (excerpts)
Matthew Schultheis – The Fountain (NY Premiere)
Kati Agócs: String Quartet #1: Tantric Variations (NY Premiere)