January 23, 2015 / 9pm
American Irish Historical Society / 991 Fifth Avenue NYC


Metropolis Ensemble Resident Artist Series

Ian Rosenbaum, Solo Percussion
Ariadne Greif, Solo Soprano
NoisioN, Live Electronics
Leo Leite, Engineer / Live Electronics
Jakub Ciupinski, Composer
Ricardo Romaneiro, Composer
Christopher Cerrone, Composer
Christopher Cahill, Poetry
Andrew Cyr, Conductor

On the Program

Jakub Ciupinski: Brownstone (2010)
Musicians will be positioned throughout the main spaces while audience members freely wander and explore. An electronic soundscape will fill halls and stairways, creating a rhythmic and colorful sonic tapestry that blends with the various instruments differently depending on your location. For 10 musicians and electronics.

Christopher Cerrone: Memory Palace (2012)
The title refers to an ancient technique of memorization that helped orators remember very long speeches by placing mental signposts in an imaginary location and 'walking' through it. Here, composer Chris Cerrone tasks the solo percussionist (Ian Rosenbaum) to construct each room's 'instrument' based a simple set of instructions. Electronic sounds are triggered and sampled live.

Ricardo Romaneiro: Coarse Air (2015 World Premiere)
A new work for soprano Ariadne Greif backed by chamber ensemble, solo percussion, and electronics in quadrophonic sound, based on texts from poet Chris Cahill and building on the instrumentations found in Brownstone and Memory Palace.

About the Concert

What would a house sound like if it could sing? "Brownstone" is a site-specific, 360-degree concert, featuring three electro-acoustic works where audience members leave their chairs behind to choose their own unique experience of each piece. Each work involves musicians and electronic elements placed throughout the main spaces of a gloriously restored, turn-of-the-century mansion facing the Metropolitan Museum, unified by each composer's exploration of electro-acoustic composition coupled with experiments in audience perspective, control, and acoustic/architectural space. There will be no gaps between pieces, creating a magical "concert-installation."

Brownstone is collaborative production of Metropolis Ensemble and Friends of Metropolis and artist Jennifer Salomon. Select sound effects from the BBC Nature Sound Effects Library provided by Pro Sound Effects.  This concert was produced in collaboration with Ricardo Romaneiro as part of Metropolis Ensemble’s Artist-in-Residence program.

The Performers

Kristin Lee, Violin
Karen Kim, Violin
Emily Smith, Violin
Fabiola Kim, Violin
Siwoo Kim, Violin
Yves Dharamraj, Cello
Ashley Bathgate, Cello
Jacqui Kerrod, Harp
Mélanie Genin, Harp
Andrew Rehrig, Flute
Nathan Mills, Oboe
Brad Balliett, Bassoon
Britton Matthews, Percussion
Sean Statser, Percussion