May 25, 2014 / 4pm
The Phillips Collection / 1600 21st Street NW / Washington, DC 

Metropolis and the Phillips Camerata

New Music by Vivian Fung


Bridget Kibbey, Harp
Quartet Senza Misura
Andrew Cyr, Artistic Director / Conductor


Kristin Lee, Violin / Leader
Siwoo Kim*, Violin
Francisco Fullana*, Violin
Ken Hamao, Violin
Elly Suh, Violin
Karen Kim, Violin
Danny Kim*, Viola
Jack Stulz, Viola
Caitlin Mary Lynch, Viola
Jay Campbell*, Cello
Hiro Matsuo, Cello
Rachel Calin, Bass
Britton Matthews, Percussion
Sean Statser, Percussion

* members of Quartet Senza Misura

On the Program

Christopher Cerrone: High Windows
For solo string quintet plus string ensemble

Steve Reich: Duet
For two violins and strings

Elliott Carter: Bariologe
For solo harp

Nathan Shields: Tenebrae 
For harp and string quartet

Vivian Fung: Concerto for Harp
For solo harp, strings, and percussion

About the Concert

Metropolis Ensemble, led by Grammy-nominated conductor Andrew Cyr, will partner with The Phillips Camerata to perform the Washington premiere of Vivian Fung’s Harp Concerto with soloist and Camerata member Bridget Kibbey. Also on the program are works by American iconoclasts Steve Reich and Elliott Carter and talented young American composers Nathan Shields and Christopher Cerrone, featuring the acclaimed Quartet Senza Misura.

Vivian Fung’s Concerto for Harp commissioned in consortium with Metropolis Ensemble (with funds generously provided by Paul and Elizabeth DeRosa), Alabama Symphony, Philips Collection, San Jose Chamber Orchestra, and Badisches Staatskapelle.